With the roll-out of a new update, Instagram will now notify your friends when you take a screenshot of their Direct Messages (DM) - a media report said.
However, the notifications are only for the new disappearing message feature, Mashable reported.
To use the new feature, a user can swipe right into the camera to take a photo or video, then tap the arrow to send it privately.
A user can pick up a group or create one in just a few taps - and can also send to individual friends at the same time.
According to Instagram's statement, "Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friend's inboxes after they have seen them. And you will see if they replayed it or took a screenshot."